logo HOME    ABOUT US    CONTACT    Information Request
attractions region places nav











City of Pontiac Visitor Welcome Center
120 W. Howard Street
Pontiac, IL 61764
Make this your first stop on your visit to Pontiac, and get all the information you need for local attractions and events.  Open daily, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, handicap accessible public restrooms available, and just a short walk to the Pontiac Museum Complex.  Pontiac will put out the “red carpet” for you.

Litchfield Museum and Route 66 Welcome Center
334 Historic Old Route 66 North
Preserving the heritage of Litchfield for generations to come and to extend our welcome to those who come to learn and reminisce.

Henry’s Ra66it Ranch
1107 Historic Old Rt. 66
Celebrates Route 66 with its collection of highway and trucking memorabilia.  At the Ranch you’ll also find a wide selection of Route 66 gifts and collectible items, as well as visitor information.  Rabbits of all kinds, both bunny and VW type, are always hopping the grounds!  This is a must see Route 66 attraction!



Alton Railroad Depot
119 West Main Street
The Depot, which was built in 1891 and designed by Henry Ives Cobb, served for a time as the Village Hall, and is now home to the Dwight Historical Society and the Chamber of Commerce.  Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982, the Depot is one of only a few stations between Chicago & St. Louis featuring architectural design of the 1890’s. 

Ambler-Becker Texaco Station
This authentic 1930’s gas station, located on the corner of Routes 66 & 17, has been restored to serve as a Welcome Center for the Village of Dwight.  The site is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Country Mansion
101 W South Street
Built in 1891, originated as the Scott House, a twenty room Victorian boarding house.  In 1895, the home was elaborately renovated and used as a private home by John Oughton, one of the founders of the Keeley Institute.  Finally, in 1977, the home was remodeled and opened as The Country Mansion.  The home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

First National Bank of Dwight
122 West Main Street
Built in 1905 and designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, this building remains much the same as when constructed. It is the only one of Wright’s two designed banks still standing.

Old 66 Family Restaurant
105 S Old Route 66
A family friendly stop with a Route 66 interior.

Pioneer Gothic Church
201 N. Franklin Street
Built in 1857, this church is a fine example of Carpenter Gothic Architecture.  Pointed arched windows and doors as well as board and batten frame construction characterize this style.  King Edward VII worshipped at the church in 1860, while on a hunting expedition in the area.  After withstanding several different ownerships and uses, as well as a complete renovation, the church was named as one of the “150 Architectural Treasures” in the State of Illinois by the Association of Illinois Architects in 2007, and is listed on the National Historic Register. 

That 50’s Place
600B West Mazon
A retro style 1950’s diner featuring homemade comfort foods. Stop by and visit with Betty Boop, Marilyn and Elvis and don’t miss their pink caddy.

The Windmill
101 W. South Street
Located behind The Country Mansion, and was originally built in 1896 to supply water for the Oughton Estate and grounds. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  Restoration and renovation of the Windmill was completed in 2005. 


Standard Oil Gasoline Station
213 S. Front Street
Collect souvenirs at this Rt. 66 icon!  If the station is closed at the time you visit, a brief recorded audio history is still available.  So come out and visit a bit of historic America, where you once could buy gasoline for $0.20 per gallon! 

Odell Subway Tunnel
Hamilton Street
Across from Saint Paul’s Church is an entrance to a 1937 pedestrian tunnel under Route 66, known locally as the “subway.”  Today, the entrance is sealed and is a reminder of the once busy crossing area on Route 66.


City of Pontiac Visitor Welcome Center/Route 66 Hall of Fame and Museum
110 W. Howard Street
Make this your first stop on your visit to Pontiac, and get all the information you need for local attractions and events.  Open daily, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM, handicap accessible public restrooms available. Pontiac will put out the "red carpet" for you.
815-844-5847 or 800-835-2055

Illinois State Police District 6 Headquarters, Route 66
Built in 1941 and constructed in the shape of a pistol and served as the base for troopers patrolling the area.

Illinois Route 66 Hall of Fame & Museum
110 W. Howard Street
Featuring Route 66 Artist and icon, Bob Waldmire’s bus and van! Step back in time and travel the “Mother Road” through displays and memorabilia. See Illinois’ largest Route 66 shield mural, artifacts of Hall of Fame Members, Route 66 State Farm Arch, flip-rack library, the Campanelli Route 66 Photo Journal collection, great photo opportunities and much more!
815-844-IL66 or 800-835-2055

The International Walldog Mural and Sign Art Museum
217 N. Mill Street
Dedicated to the preservation of the history, techniques, and stories associated with the development of outdoor wall advertising.  The museum contains images, videos, artifacts, and a small library which help the visitor to understand how the early outdoor wall advertisements evolved.  Included in the museum is an art gallery where the work of the modern day Walldogs are on display, and selected artworks are available for purchase. 

Livingston County War Museum
321 N. Main
This museum displays uniforms, artifacts and documents from World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and current wars in Iraq and Afghanistan.  The museum is staffed by veterans who are there to tell their stories, answer visitors’ questions, and honor all men and women who have served our country.

Murals on Main Street Tour
A unique collection of nineteen murals located in and around historic downtown district.  These murals honor the commercial, social and political history of the city. Enjoy beautiful art in a Norman Rockwell town like setting. 

Old City Hall Shoppes
321 North Main Street, housed in Pontiac’s historic Old City Hall and firehouse, the Old City Hall Shoppes present a delightfully unique shopping experience.  Twenty shops under one roof, offering everything from antiques, handmade items and gifts, to home accents, souvenirs and more.  There is truly something for everyone! 

Old Log Cabin Restaurant
18700 Old Route 66
Built in 1926 and still serving food to travelers.

Pontiac Oakland Museum and Resource Center
205 North Mill Street
The history of the Oakland and Pontiac car brands as seen through 15 classiccars, dealer artifacts, a complete print library and memorabilia.  Free admission.

Strevell-Lincoln House
401 W. Livingston Street
Built in the 1850’s, this home welcomed Abraham Lincoln in 1860.  Among the many connections Pontiac has to Lincoln, one of the most interesting revolves around Lincoln’s friendship with local attorney, Jason W. Strevell.  The house is currently being restored by the Livingston County Historical Society. 

Three Swinging Bridges
Pontiac is the only city in Central Illinois with three swinging bridges, all which span across the Vermilion River.  One of the bridges, which connects Riverview Drive and Play Park, was built in 1898 by Joliet Bridge Company. Currently a wooden structure, the bridge was built 190 feet long and 4 feet wide, supported by cables swung from masonry piers.  The other two bridges are not far in location from the first, one which connects Play Park and Chautauqua Park, and the other which connects the south side and Riverside-Humiston Park. 
815-844-5847 or 800-835-2055


Chenoa Pharmacy
209 Green Street
This pharmacy has been in operation continuously since it opened in 1889.  The original wood floor and many original fixtures add to the ambience and charm of this historic building. 

Selz Royal Blue Shoes Mural
224 Green Street
A beautiful example of outdoor advertising.


Route 66 Park
A small wayside park that provide information about historic Lexington and serves as the trailhead for the bike trail.

Route 66 Memory Lane
A one-mile stretch of original Route 66 that was dedicated in 1926.  It features vintage billboard and Burma Shave signs.  It can be walked year-round and open to traffic during special events. 


A Geographic Journey Parkway
Jackson Street and Boyd Wesley Park
A 1.6 mile stretch of abandoned 66 with education kiosks.


Bloomington-Normal Area Convention and Visitors Bureau
3201 CIRA Drive, Suite 201
Bloomington, IL 61704 
309-665-0033 or 800-433-8226

Beer Nuts® Inc.
103 North Robinson Street
Bloomington, IL
The only place in the world where Beer Nuts® are manufactured.  Visit them at one of two local Beer Nuts Company Stores. 

Children’s Discovery Museum
101 East Beaufort Street
Normal, IL
Explore, imagine, create and play with three floors of unique, hands-on, larger than life exhibits; experience the thrill of hdropower in the brand new Water Works! exhibit; join in the fun of new exciting educational programs and shop at the Discover More! Store. 

Constitution Trail
Enjoy walking, hiking, jogging, biking and cross country skiing on this 37 mile multi-use trail throughout Bloomington and Normal. 

David Davis Mansion State Historic Site
1000 E. Monroe Street
Bloomington, IL
The estate of Judge David Davis, friend and mentor to Abraham Lincoln, provides a focal point for the social, cultural and political life of the community.  Tours are offered for both groups and individuals and arrangements can also be made for a special Tea Ladies program. 

First Steak’n Shake
1219 South Main Street
Gus and Edith Belt owned a Shells’ gas station in the 1920’s.  They attached a dining room selling chicken and realized the area had plenty of chicken restaurants.  After changing their line to steak burgers, the first Steak’n Shake was born in 1934.

McLean County Museum of History
200 N. Main Street
Bloomington, IL
From Kickapoo Indians to early European settlers, from the small town where Lincoln practiced law to today’s thriving community, the stories of this uniquely Midwestern community are told at the museum. 

Miller Park Zoo
1020 S. Morris Ave.
Bloomington, IL
The Zoo features many large indoor and outdoor exhibits such as the Tropical American Rainforest, ZooLab, Katthoefer Animal Building, Wallaby WalkAbout, Children’s Zoo and Animals of Asia, as well as educational classes, special events, and group programs. 

Eastland Mall
1615 East Empire Street
Eastland Mall is a family friendly indoor mall, anchored by Macy’s, Bergners, Kohls, Sears and JCPenney’s, that is sure to please everyone with a wide variety of stores, in activities, food and entertainment. 

The Shoppes at College Hills
North Veterans Parkway
Normal, IL
The Shoppes at College Hills is an open-air lifestyle center anchored by Von Maur, Gordman’s, Hobby Lobby and Target.  The exciting blend of retailers and restaurants includes more than 25 specialty stores. 

McLean County Arts Center
601 North East Street
One of the oldest arts organizations in the Midwest, the McLean County Arts Center is a non-profit community art resource that has been serving Central Illinois for over 130 years.  Each year, 12 art exhibitions are held including the Holiday Treasures Exposition and Sale, and the annual Amateur Competition and Exhibition which, for over 70 years, has showcased the best amateur artists Central Illinois has to offer.

Sprague Super Service
305 East Pine Street
This two-story Tudor-Revival style building was built in 1931 to serve increasing traveler needs on Route 66. Rehabilitation plans include an visitor center, coffee shop, tea room and public meeting space


Funk Prairie Home and Gem and Mineral Museum
10875 Prairie Home Lane
The restored 1864 residence includes historic memorabilia and antiques of the Funk Family. The Gem & Mineral Museum features the Hall of Gems & Minerals with its dazzling display of many rare and beautiful stones, and the Indian artifact room with early examples of Native American culture.  Reservations required. 

Funk’s Grove Pure Maple Sirup
5257 Old Route 66
Guided tours of the grounds are offered during the sirup-making season that showcase the Funk family process. Funk’s Pure Maple Sirup can be purchased at the store, along with Route 66 memorabilia and other Funk’s products. 


Dixie Truck Stop
Started as a small rental spot selling sandwiches to Route 66 travelers and has turned into a full-fledged restaurant and truck stop. The neon Dixie sign offers a great photograph opportunity.

Sugar Grove Nature Center
4532 North 725 East Road
Located in beautiful, historic Funks Grove among over 1,000 acres of forest and prairie.  Funks Grove is the largest remaining intact prairie grove in the state of Illinois and is a designated National Natural Landmark.  Visitors will enjoy interpretive exhibits, live animals and a wildlife viewing room as well as access to 5 miles of hiking trails. 


Atlanta Library & Clock Tower
100 SE Race Street
Built in 1908, this National Register Property is one of Illinois’ few octagonal-shaped public libraries. Its gilded rotunda and interior rooms, filled with solid-oak woodwork, reflect its classic architecture. Local volunteers who comprise the "Keepers of the Clock" take turns on a weekly basis hand-winding the 1909 Seth Thomas clock housed in the library’s clock tower.

Atlanta Museum
112 SW Arch Street
Exhibits focusing on Abraham Lincoln, Rt. 66, and other aspects of Atlanta’s history are featured in the newly renovated home of the Atlanta Museum.  The
Museum’s Local History Resource Center provides extensive genealogy materials accessible to the public.  Housed in a beautifully restored 1867 building, the Atlanta Museum presents both permanent and new, rotating exhibits.

Atlanta’s Bunyon Giant
103 SW Arch St. (Old Rt. 66)
"Say Cheese" in front of this great Rt. 66 photo-op. Originally located in front of Bunyon’s restaurant on Rt. 66 in Cicero, Illinois, the 19ft. tall Bunyon Giant now welcomes Rt. 66 travelers to Atlanta, Illinois.

J. H. Hawes Grain Elevator Museum
301 SW 2nd Street
Illinois’ only fully restored wooden grain elevator listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  A new outdoor, self-guided interpretive tour allows visitors to experience the Elevator Museum anytime.

Palms Grill Cafe
110 SW Arch St. (Old Rt. 66)
Blue-plate specials, BINGO, and a bus stop – welcome to the Palms Grill Cafe.  Lovingly restored to its circa 1935 appearance, the cafe now invites visitors to step back in time and experience the way it used to taste.

Rt. 66 Murals/Outdoor Advertising
Down-town Atlanta, several, large outdoor murals on the sides of Atlanta’s business buildings recreate the look and feel of what Rt. 66 travelers used to see as they motored the Mother Road.

Route 66 Arcade Museum
114 SW Arch St
This blast to the past houses over 40 vintage pinball and video games, including a rare, circa 1936, flipperless, wooden-cased, pinball game, and original PacMan video game and many others. Nearly all the machines are operable and can be played for only a quarter.


Abraham Lincoln Tourism Bureau of Logan County
1555 Fifth Street

Hallie’s Restaurant
111 South Kickapoo Street
Owned and operated by the grandson of the Huffmans, who began making their famous schnitzel in the Mill Restaurant in 1945. 

Heritage In-Flight Museum
1351 Airport Road
Located at the Logan County Airport, the museum is filled with memorabilia from all the military conflicts dating back to WWI. 
217-732 3333

Lincoln Heritage Museum
1115 Nicholson Rd
(Lincoln College Campus) This museum contains a remarkable collection of rare and original historic pieces relating to Lincoln and the Civil War, including several personal items he owned, a table at which he learned at, and many Civil War pieces. Additionally, through A/V presentations, object reproductions, and realistic 19th-century room recreations, the visitor is drawn back into Lincoln’s world in a unique approach to see history, hear history and feel history.

Logan County Courthouse
Erected in 1905, the courthouse is located on the square, which is a historic district. It houses county offices and records, a statue of Lincoln, murals, plus historical display cases. 

The Mill on 66
738 S Washington
This Route 66 icon is on the road to recovery!  Come check out the unique structure of the Dutch themed building. Great photo opportunity. 

Railsplitter Covered Wagon
1750 Fifth Street
Recognized by the Guinness Book of World Records as the “World’s Largest Covered Wagon.”

Postville Courthouse State Historic Site
914 Fifth Street
A reproduction of the first Logan County Courthouse in use from 1840 to 1847. Abraham Lincoln served here as a lawyer on the Eighth Judicial Circuit. 

Route 66 Log Chapel
Corner of Fifth and Logan
Built by the Zion Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, this small log cabin chapel next to Route 66 is open for travelers. 

Wall Dogs Mural
Downtown Lincoln
Eleven beautifully painted murals can be seen throughout the downtown area.


The quaint Village of Elkhart offers unique businesses and quality services located in restored structures and marketed as “historic downtown Elkhart.”  Elkhart is located less than one mile from I-55 and right off old Route 66, providing convenient access as a tourism attraction.  Rich in history and natural beauty, Elkhart is famous for its unusual landscape – a tree covered hill that rises 777 feet above sea level, surrounded by a horizon of flat Illinois prairie land.  Settled in 1855, the picturesque early 1900’s style downtown makes Elkhart one of a kind.  www.eklhartillinois.us

Elkhart Cemetery
Located on the hill and surrounded by woods, the cemetery dates back as far as 1860.  Veterans of wars since the Mexican War and the Indian Wars are buried in the cemetery.  Famous Elkhart figures John D. Gillett (1819-1899), farmer and cattle breeder; Captain A. H. Bogardus (1834-1913), sharp shooter champion, inventor of the Bogardus Trap, and famous as a partner with the Cody-Salisbury Wild West show and Annie Oakley; and Governor Richard J. Oglesby (1824-1899), Governor of Illinois and intimate personal friend of Abraham Lincoln, are buried in the Elkhart cemetery. 

John P. Gillett Memorial Bridge
Built in 1915, is considered an Illinois Landmark.  The arched bridge is one of only two privately owned bridges in the state of Illinois.  Originally a wooden bridge built in 1899, it was part of the Oglesby estate.  The funeral processional for Governor Oglesby, which included Lincoln’s son Robert, walked across the original bridge.  The bridge was replaced in 1915 with the current concrete, closed-spandrel arch bridge.

Lincoln Heritage Signs
“Heritage Corner”, downtown Elkhart, informational signs about Elkhart, one story depicts the history of Lincoln and the Kentucky House while the other depicts the connection between Lincoln, John Dean Gillett and Elkhart.

St. John the Baptist Chapel
Elkhart Cemetery
Lemira Gillett built this Episcopalian Chapel in 1890 for $10,000 in memory of her husband John Dean Gillett.  It is the only privately ownedand operated church in Illinois.  Constructed by the Culver Stone and Marble Company of Springfield, it is one of the few remaining Culver buildings in the area.  Designed in Gothic Revival style with thick walls of Grafton Limestone, it houses one of the oldest working pipe organs in the state (built by Hook and Hasting Company out of Boston).  Beautiful Tiffany style stained-glass windows grace the interior of this historic chapel. 
The Wild Hare Café
104 Governor Oglesby Street
Located within Horsefeathers antiques and gift shop, the café offers delicious dishes prepared from scratch on the premises – always usingthe best of ingredients and organically grown produce whenever possible.  Eat in the restored small or large vault of the 1892 bank building! 


Route 66 Antiques
10500 US Route 66
Recently reopened after being destroyed by a 2009 tornado.

Historic Depot and Box Cars
102 S Elm Street
Collection of photographs and other memorabilia reflecting the history of Williamsville. 


Springfield Convention and Visitors Bureau
109 North 7th Street
Springfield, IL 62701
217-789-2360 or 800 -545-7300

Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum
212 North 6th Street
Enabling visitors to experience the entire Lincoln story for themselves, under one roof- in a modern television control room on Election Night, 1860, the Blue Room of the White House; an Indiana log cabin; Ford’s Theatre; and twin special effects theatres featuring multi-screen, state-of-the-art projection technology that uses twenty-first century advancements to immerse visitors in the nineteenth century. 
Cozy Dog Drive In
2935 S. 6th Street
This traditional Route 66 diner is a part of the history of Springfield when inventor Ed Waldmire introduced the Cozy Dog “famous hot dog on a stick” at the Lake Springfield Beach House and at the Illinois State Fair in 1946.

Dana-Thomas House State Historic Site
301 East Lawrence
Designed by Frank Lloyd Wright, the house was built in 1902.  It is the most perfectly preserved example of early Wright architecture, art glass and furniture in the country. 

Historic Sites Bus
Downtown Springfield
The Springfield Mass Transit District offers a bus to take you around to some of Springfield’s most visited sites from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum, Lincoln’s Tomb, Lincoln’s Home, and many other sites.  Runs every half hour, one price for the whole day. 

Illinois Korean War Memorial
Oak Ridge Cemetery
The names of 1,752 Illinois veterans killed in action are engraved on the granite walls as well as quotes from all of the branches of the Armed Forces. 
Illinois State Museum
502 S Spring St (Spring and Edwards Streets)
Come see us at the Illinois State Museum. Discover 500 million years of changing Illinois environments, marvel at the creations of renowned artists, explore past and present lifeways, and much more – all for FREE! 
Illinois Vietnam Veterans Memorial
Oak Ridge Cemetery
This memorial pays tribute to Illinoisans’ who served in Vietnam.  Names of KIA’s, POW’s and MIA’s are listed on the striking black and gray granite walls. 

Knight’s Action Park & Caribbean Water Adventure
1700 Recreation Drive
This park is family owned.  Family entertainment center has go karts, mini-golf, ferris wheel, batting cages & driving range. Water park offers activity pools, a wave pool, waterslides, thrill rides, bumper and pedal boats and an action river. 

Lincoln-Herndon Law Offices State Historical Site
6th and Adams
This building built in 1840, is the only surviving structure in which Abraham Lincoln maintained a law office. 

Lincoln Home National Historic Site
8th & Jackson
The only home Abraham Lincoln ever owned. It is now the center of a restored four block area, which includes a visitor’s center. 
217-492-4241, ext. 221
Lincoln Tomb State Historic Site
Oak Ridge Cemetery
Abraham Lincoln, his wife Mary Todd and three of their four sons rest here. The statuary inside the tomb shows Lincoln at different periods in his career. 

Old State Capitol State Historic Site
Old State Capitol Plaza
Only one block from the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum.  Magnificently restored, with period furnishings of Abraham Lincoln’s last term in the Illinois House of Representatives. 

Route 66 Twin Drive Inn
1700 Recreation Drive
This resurrected drive-in shows double features nightly on each screen. 
217-546-8881 or movie line 217-698-0066

Shea’s Gas Station Museum
2075 Peoria Road
A favorite photo stop for Route 66 travelers from around the world.  View charming and eclectic collection of more than half a century of gas station memorabilia. 

World War II Illinois Veterans Memorial
Located in Oak Ridge Cemetery. A globe of the world symbolizing the conflict that involved more than 200 nations.  More than 70 stainless steel buttons on the globe signify the major battles and events of World War II.  Two black granite walls extend out from the globe approximately 100 feet and are engraved with the major battles and events of World War II.


Sugar Creek Covered Bridge
Covered Bridge Road southeast of Chatham, this beautiful red bridge was built in 1880 and was designed to accommodate horse-drawn wagons full of hay.  A quaint park adjacent to the bridge and creek is an ideal place for a picnic. 


Becky’s Barn
5029 Snell Road
Just off the famous Historic Brick Road, this place is packed full of antiques and collectibles.

Historic Brick Road

Snell and Curran Roads
This original 1.4 mile hand-lain brick road was completed in 1931 and curves through cornfields near Auburn.


Battle of Virden Monument
Located on the Virden square, depicts the October 12, 1898 battle in which 12 people were killed.  Eight of the dead were miners from towns surrounding Virden who had come to support the local miners.


Doc’s Soda Fountain/Deck’s Pharmacy Museum
133 South Second Street
Offering lunch, ice cream and old fashioned treats.  Stroll through the drug store museum displaying items dating back to 1884. 

309 S 3rd St
This local favorite serves over 50 flavors of ice cream, malts, shakes, banana splits, sundaes and more. Menu items also includes burgers, fried treats and horseshoes.


Carlinville Historic District
Nearly one-third of the only Carlinville in the world was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in Illinois in 1976. The elegance and architectural variety of the many homes, churches, and businesses within the historic district have attracted numerous visitors to the area.

Macoupin County “Million Dollar” Courthouse
200 East Main Street
Due to extremely high construction costs, this courthouse is known as the “Million Dollar Courthouse”.  Upon its completion in 1870, it became the largest county courthouse in the United States at the time.  While the courthouse still serves as the seat of the county government, it has also become an attraction for tourists, architects, and artists from all over the world. 

Macoupin County Historical Museum
920 W. Breckenridge Street
Located in the Anderson Mansion, a historic two-story Victorian home.  The original structure was built in 1883, and expanded in 1892.  The museum displays exhibits that chronicle the development of Macoupin County, as well as antiques and collectibles of the past.  There are also several other buildings including a one-room school house, blacksmith shop, and church. 
217-854-8916 or 217-854-8500

Macoupin County Jail
This historic building was built in 1869 using the “cannon ball” method to prevent jail breaks.  The medieval-inspired fortress housed many criminals during its 119 years of use, but only one escaped.  The jail was used until 1988, when the new county jail was built. 

Standard Addition
In 1917, when Standard Oil opened two new mines near town, Carlinville’s population grew by one-third and caused a temporary housing crisis. In response, Standard Oil turned to the Sears & Roebuck catalog. 1 56 homes were ordered by mail, delivered by rail, and created within a year.  152 of the original homes still stand, making this neighborhood the largest concentrated collection of Sears Homes in the United States. 


City of Litchfield Tourism Office
120 E. Ryder Street

Ariston Café
413 N Old Route 66
Believed to be one of the oldest, if not the oldest restaurant on Route 66, and still continues to offer the traditional service expected at a family-owned restaurant.  With a huge menu full of old favorites and scrumptious desserts, this is not a place you want to miss! 

Jubelt’s Bakery
303 North Old Route 66
They have been been welcoming visitors in Litchfield since the 50’s. Stop in for a delightful baked good or try the famous Pimento Cheese Salad.

Lake Lou Yaeger
This 1500+ acre lake offers 45 miles of beautiful shoreline and several recreational opportunities.  Visitors can enjoy boating, skiing, swimming, fishing and camping.  There are two excellent marine facilities, as well as a 300 acre park area with five picnic areas, two playgrounds, pavilions, rest rooms, and outdoor stoves.  The park area also allows horseback riding on the trails, and the beach house has showers, restrooms, snack bar, and lifeguards on duty. 

Litchfield Museum and Route 66 Welcome Center
334 Historic Old Route 66 North
Preserving the heritage of Litchfield for generations to come and to extend our welcome to those who come to learn and reminisce.

Shoal Creek Nature Preserve
Lake Lou Yaeger, east side of dam, this beautiful nature preserve consists of over 250 acres, filled with over 675 unique species of plants.  Visitors can enjoy bird and butterfly watching as they hike through the winding trails.  Groups and school children are especially welcome to tour the preserve. 

Sky View Drive-In Theater
This original Route 66 theater has been operating since 1950, and has since been inducted into the Route 66 Hall of Fame. Viewers can re-live the memories of the good ole days as they watch a movie under the stars on a hot summer night.  Open weekends only April-October.

Walton Park
South edge of Litchfield, home of the first 1905 Chautauqua, where speeches were given by William Jennings Bryan and Carrie Nation. The park offers picnic tables, playground areas, horseshoe pits, 9-hole disc golf course, and a pavilion with fireplace, a great place for family gatherings. Visitors can also enjoy fishing, canoeing and row boating on the lake. 


Mother Jones Monument
Lake & Main Street
Union Miners Cemetery, this monument honors Mother Jones, a grandmother and a crusader, who risked her life by leading a labor union for coal miners’ rights in the 1930s. 

Soulsby’s Rt. 66 Gas Station
201 S. Old Rt. 66
This gas station, which is now a Rt. 66 icon, was one of the longest operating gas stations on the Mother Road.  It was in constant operation from 1926 to 1992 with the same owner.  One of the most interesting features of this site is the oak tree that has grown between the rails of the steel automobile
repair ramp outside of the station.  This is definitely a site to see! 


Henry’s Ra66it Ranch
1107 Historic Old Rt. 66
Celebrates Route 66 with its collection of highway and trucking memorabilia.  At the Ranch you’ll also find a wide selection of Route 66 gifts and collectible items, as well as visitor information. Rabbits of all kinds, both bunny and VW type, are always hopping the grounds!  This is a must see Route 66 attraction!


The Winery at Shale Lake
1499 Washington Ave
This winery features a ‘country chic’ tasting room, a lake, cabins and more.


© 2013 Land of Lincoln Regional Tourism             Website by Trittenhaus Design
pinterest Flickr Foursquare Twitter facebook YouTube home attractions region palces partners activities events agfun